Premier League 2013 10 Players in New Format

Default Icon
Posted on by on January 2nd, 2013 | 4 Comments »

The players for the 2013 Premier League Darts have been announced and there is a twist this year.

10 players will begin the tournament in a re-vamp format with the bottom 2 being relegated in Brighton in week 10. The format will see each player play each other once and the 2 with the least amount of points will be leave the competition.

Then the remaining players will play each other once again to complete the regular league format and play offs before the final at the 02 in May.

The 10 players announced are:

  • Phil Taylor
  • Adrian Lewis
  • Michael van Gerwen
  • Simon Whitlock
  • James Wade
  • Andy Hamilton
  • Wes Newton
  • Raymond van Barneveld
  • Gary Anderson
  • Robert Thornton

The new format sees 3 new players to the tournament, Thornton, van Gerwen and Wes Newton.

PDC Chairman Barry Hearn said

This new format for the McCoy’s Premier League Darts is going to take the tournament to a whole new level, Fans across the UK and Ireland will experience five spectacular matches on each night, and all ten players have earned their spots with their achievements over the last 12 months.

This new format will mean incredible competition both to avoid relegation and then for Play-Off places before the ninth McCoy’s Premier League champion is crowned at The O2 in May.

Sheffield, Dublin, Birmingham, Liverpool and Newcastle host the final 8 before the top 4 in the league move on to London.

Live Darts

Categorized Under


About paul

» has written 36 posts


  1. Struan Douglas
    Posted on: 1-2-2013

    I think you may have missed Wade from the list?
    I have 4 of the players playing in an event I am organising on June 14th, the Edinburgh Masters darts Lewis, MvG, Anderson and Thornton. Should be excellent!

  2. Steph
    Posted on: 1-2-2013

    There are only 9 players listed. Has James Wade been missed off?

  3. Posted on: 1-6-2013

    Hi there,
    The article from “” only gave 9 players listed for this year’s comp (Taylor, Lewis, Van Gerwen, Whitlock, Hamilton, Newton, Van Barneveld, Anderson, Thornton).
    Who is the tenth player ??

    • paul
      Posted on: 1-9-2013

      Thanks now updated.


Leave a Reply

« Betfair World Matchplay 2012
Betway Darts Trickshot League – Blindfold Challenge »
Live Darts

Roll of Honour

2014 - Raymond van Barneveld
2013 - Michael van Gerwen
2012 - Phil Taylor
2011 - Gary Anderson
2010 - Phil Taylor
2009 - James Wade
2008 - Phil Taylor
2007 - Phil Taylor
2006 - Phil Taylor
2005 - Phil Taylor

Darts Shop

Darts Corner - UK Dart Shop

Pro Darts Players

Advertise Here

Contact Premier League Darts for advertising opportunities.